19 Comments
author

I have a few - nostalgic: Wendy's, Popeyes, Burger King, Papa Johns, Donatos (not a national chain but still), Dominos. Currently: Chipotle! I live for it. I will for sure be editing this list

Expand full comment
Apr 19, 2022Liked by Emily Fedner

Domino’s & Taco Bell hold special places in my heart! Domino’s was the only place open late at my college so it was a classic go to for late nights out or studying. I went to Taco Bell as a child after extracurriculars and always got the Mexican Pizza so I’m beyond ecstatic that’s making a comeback ☺️

Expand full comment

Taco Bell takes the cake for fast food! I rarely eat fast food, but late night Taco Bell hits different. But the one I eat the most is sweetgreen (does that count?), and I love an occasional Shake Shack and Moe's when I'm home in the suburbs :)

Expand full comment

Dominos all the way! That was my first thought. Also love Rubios (might be a CA thing), and I agree that a Wendy’s frosty is iconic. So are McFlurrys though

Expand full comment

Taco Bell & Cookout 100%

Expand full comment

Omg…I too ate Popeyes and Mardi Gras Mustard after every dentist appointment. Is that a bigger shared memory than I thought?!

Expand full comment

Burger King and Pizza Hut are my 2 nostalgic favorites. Burger King I just sometimes really crave a Whopper and Onion Rings. Pizza Hut I grew up on the buffet. It was such a treat to go eat too much pizza and have each slice be different toppings.

Expand full comment

It has to be McDonald's for me, it was one of the only ones I ate growing up (my family had a franchise of one!). All my friends think this is gross, but the filet o fish sandwich is seriously so good hahaha. And of course, the fries can't be beat.

Expand full comment

I like In n Out Burgers. Then in Los Angeles it’s World Famous Tommy’s Burgers! Also in Los Angeles I like Yoshinoya Beef Bowl! I now live in Texas and I miss those food chains so much!

Expand full comment

Cheesecake Factory! For fast food - Popeyes, Taco Bell, and KFC are all nostalgic faves

Expand full comment

also if shake shack counts as a chain (which i feel that it does), i will gladly toss that one into the ring as well

Expand full comment

i looooooove domino's and i will not apologize. (i live in new york and people make fun of me but i will die on the hill that the garlicky crust is delicious!!! and that cheesy bread!)

also I randomly had a memory of FUDRUCKER'S the other day, did anyone else go there as a kid in the suburbs? or was that just a local chain in Atlanta?

Expand full comment

Taco Bell for sure! The one closest was within walking distance, but became a hassle once the dining room closed because the drive through only served cars! We were being responsible and walking instead of driving but couldn't get our delicious late night treats on foot!

Expand full comment

Charleys Philly Steak, WG Grinders or Skyline. Charleys was the first place I can remember that would cut the fries right in front of you. Grinders was my go to lunch spot and to this day still has the best pasta salad- cheddar Mac pasta salad. Skyline was the best late night when you are already going to regret the night’s “good ideas” and need something to make sure the drinks stay down. Great question!

Expand full comment

You know I love TBell!

Expand full comment

In ‘n’ Out, Del Taco ( especially the breakfast items), and higher end Hillstone/Houston’s/ ( spinach artichoke dip and the grilled chicken salad are the moves)

Expand full comment

Cheesecake Factory is my fav chain restaurant! As far as fast food restaurants, McDs will always be my fav.

Expand full comment