13 Comments

I feel like Tokyo would be a grounding and humbling trip and experience for you! The food culture is remarkable, and it's a convenient, safe, inspiring place to travel alone. You can easily and affordably travel within Japan too, taking day trips or traveling for a few days at a time (places like Kyoto, Osaka or Karuizawa are only a 2-3 hour commute!). From the spirituality of old landmarks, nature, hot springs, and temples/shrines, to the overall politeness and kindness of the people is so moving. I highly recommend!

Expand full comment

Cape Town in South Africa is definitely a life changing trip! I went there originally for 6 months for an exchange programme and ended up staying 2 years (cut short because of covid). The food, people, landscape, culture, hikes, sunsets - everything is just amazing!! Every single person I know that has been there, fell in love :)

Expand full comment

South east Asia! Hit up Thailand Cambodia and Vietnam. All super close tho each other, the food and culture is amazing and traveling as a solo female is safe. 🫶🏽

Expand full comment

I went to Vietnam solo after ending a 7-year relationship (also inspired by Anthony Bourdain) and it was exactly what I needed. The people are unbelievably kind, it's impossible to have a bad meal, and there is so much to see both in the cities and in the countryside. It's very affordable and very easy to travel within the country, so you can be flexible and make decisions about where to visit based on how you feel and places you hear about from locals and other travelers. Spending a month there honestly brought me back to life and I still dream about moving there!

Expand full comment

Solo journey backpacking in my early 30s to Thailand, Laos, Bali, Malaysia, and Myanmar (for 7 months in total). It was SO hard, but so rewarding. Met amazing people and saw the world in a new way. Traveling alone is the best! You won’t regret it.

Expand full comment

Honestly, Sarajevo in Bosnia & Herzegovina is still one of my all-time favorite cities. The food is amazing, the people are beyond kind, the history is tangible, and the beer is delicious. You can stay in an adorable apartment or hotel for less than $50/night! There are lots of amazing day trips you can take from Sarajevo too, and I’d recommend a few days in Croatia along the coast for 5* seafood, too!

Expand full comment

If you don’t want to go too far and still have an experience, i would recommend Mexico City! I loved the city, the food, the people, the activities! But also Italy is definitely one of my most favorite countries, i mean it’s also more than just pasta but also a LOT of pasta haha!

Expand full comment

Eeek! So excited for you. Cape Town was indeed life changing, but I can’t decide if it would be good for solo travel. I need to think some more on it but I’m excited to see where you end up!

Expand full comment

I went to Spain on a semester abroad and con confirm that it was life-changing, a great place to nurse a broken heart, and a great place to eat! Changed my life in the sense that it opened me up to the world of travel and the culture/society really helped me to appreciate a slower, less grind-y pace of life. I would also say that Turkey is an EXCELLENT place to eat and was life-changing/perspective-shifting in a totally different way. And also I agree with Cape Town - amazing food and totally life-changing!

Expand full comment

I moved to Lubbock TX in 2008 from Sacramento CA because of work. Been here ever since. This definitely changed my life!

Expand full comment

France! As it changed Julia Child's orientation and existence so you will discover living in France will change your ideas of life!!! Having lived on the Normandy coast for a year, it changed mine as well!

B. Levin, MD

Expand full comment