14 Comments

I love intestines - it's a common protein in Chinese cuisine (and many other Asian cuisines!) and I think they're the best. They have a chewy and fatty texture. I recommend it to people who enjoy fatty pork belly because it's a similar vibe. I enjoy it in stews when it's cooked down to melt in your mouth, or in KBBQ when the outside crisps but the inside remains moist. Definitely an acquired taste but one that I'm very proud of!!

Expand full comment

Cottage cheese -- I could eat it by the TUB full (plain, with fruit, with eggs, you name it!) and nearly everyone has an opinion about it. Sigh.

Expand full comment

Plain oatmeal. No sweetener or fruit. I eat it most days. I find it super comforting, but I know a lot of people think it's bland without all the bells and whistles.

Expand full comment

Cockles! In the jar! In the UK! Grew up eating them. So vinegary and delicious

Expand full comment

My dad loves sardines on toast. We jumped up to serve them to him. Little did he know we were playing *MASH* and doing surgery on the fish before serving him. I took out more spleens, bullets, appendix, and delivered many fish babies. My poor patient dad ate the rubble we left him.

I’m a smoked oyster lover 😻

Expand full comment

Durian. I love the flavor and the texture. I also like the smell too. I don’t know what the big deal is. It has such a deep flavor.

Expand full comment

Alright, I'm not proud of it. But the filet o fish from McDonalds. I loooove it and all of my friends think its so gross hahahaha

Expand full comment

Olives. Black, green, purple- you name it, I love them. I can eat them like candy and will never get tired of them.

Expand full comment

Also sardines and anchovies, mostly inspired by Spongebob.

Expand full comment

I love uni and anchovies ! Most of my friends cannot stand them. I LOVE LOVE LOVE

Expand full comment

I am a massive mayo fan. I grew up in a very mayo-positive household and have carried my love for the condiment into adulthood. Most people in my life make fun of me for eating mayo with so many things and I constantly meet people who hold equally strong but opposite opinions about mayo from me.

Expand full comment

Beets - love them especially roasted with a yogurt sauce.

Expand full comment

What I like a lot and most of my friends don’t is Kimchi!! I grew up eating Korean Foods since I lived in LA. I guess Kimchi is an acquired taste 😇

Expand full comment