43 Comments
author

The overuse of truffle oil. I hate the smell of truffle fries coming out of a kitchen.

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Ketchup! I’ve hated it all my life…it looks fake, tastes like straight liquid sugar, and people just smother it all over fries. It grosses me out so much

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Truffles. I don’t understand why people put them on everything.

Expand full comment
Dec 29, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Fruit on a savory salad. I simply will NEVER understand how berries with dressing and chicken is delicious

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

You're gonna hate me for this but... Salmon! I love fish and seafood and I've tried salmon many times but we just don't get along🙈

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Now that you mention it, cooked bell peppers are trash. I like them raw dipped in hummus (thought what doesn’t taste good dipped in hummus) but they’re either undercooked or overcooked in stir fries.

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Onions! And I'm from Mexico, so I'm supposed to really love them bc we use them for almost everything, but I just can't at all!

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

I hate anything carbonated! Soda, champagne, beer I truly hate it all. It makes trying to order cocktails such a pain.

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Always hated red peppers and my daughter is allergic to them and carries an epi pen!

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021·edited Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

So-called "Pasta" with the sauce or ragù not mixed, seemingly for aesthetic. Not only is this not pasta, but it forces the eater to either taste too much bare pasta or too much sauce -- which is NOT the intended experience -- and also forces them to do the work of mixing it themselves, which is the work of the chef.

IMHO, this similar to the gimmicks of Boho Chic and new "Industrial Style" interior living spaces. Why should it cost more to look impoverished in poorer quality clothes? Why should you pay more for developers to do LESS developing (i.e. leaving exposed brick, exposed pipes, and bare ceilings)? In essence, we have profiteers making unfinished goods, laziness, and trashy minimalist Nouveau somehow trendy. Similarly, serving the bare pasta and sauce in this more or less modular fashion is a cheap way to cut back on cooking time and serve more customers faster (i.e. increase throughput of restaurant), while making it look intentional and symmetric for all camera angles.

This is disastrous for all cultures, and many Italian chefs know it.

End of rant.

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

You already know I’m right there with you on the bell peppers! They are my single most hated food on the planet. I can’t even do fajitas. Just the smell alone makes my stomach turn.

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

I'm with you 100% Emily. I recognized this as a small child. I thought it was just me! BTW, I hope to have lunch at the Sapp Coffee Shop Thursday. I'll be in LA for the Rose Bowl.

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Oranges 🤢🤢

Expand full comment

Potato salad. Yuck.

Expand full comment

Mint-chocolate anything. Peppermint mochas, Yorkshire patties, peppermint bark, mint chocolate chip ice cream…all gross.

Expand full comment

fruit. I've never liked it. I like berries but not fruit at all. It's the texture. Especially oranges and those skin-like pieces that hang off. ICK

Expand full comment

Pickles! Pickled onion or pickled jalapeños are fine, but pickled cucumber is just not for me.

Expand full comment