18 Comments
author

I'm gonna start us off: I have many death bed meals for many different situations. I literally wrote an essay about it. But when pressed to pick *just one* I am going to have to go with my Babushka Lola's potato vareniki. So delicious, so much nostalgia. Whenever I make them I'm transported right back to the rickety table in her small apartment kitchen❤️

Expand full comment

I’m torn between nostalgia or daring. I think my dad’s pizza rustica (made in a casserole dish with pie dough, like a lasagna without the noodles) or an entire cake each slice a different flavor.

Expand full comment

Foie Gras in any form. Sorry, vegans :(

Expand full comment

Mine would be my dad’s cheese tortellini with a white cream sauce he learned to make when he lived in France with broccoli and carrots! He’s makes it every time I come home.

Expand full comment

Pepperoni Pizza. NY Style. Not just one slice. A whole pizza.

Expand full comment

Currently, Northern Chinese cumin lamb noodles. Why kill someone and end up on death row when I can travel to St Louis and get this on a monthly basis? Works better than any Scared Straight program.

Expand full comment

love this question!

I think I'd have to go with:

- warm bread with salty butter

- cacio e pepe (specifically from osteria da fortunata in rome)

- mashed potatoes and a medium rare steak

- an ice cold dirty martini (or two)

- creme brulee for dessert

it's clear i'm dying from clogged arteries...

Expand full comment

Mine would probably be my late Nana's seafood pasta that she made for Christmas Eve every year with some bomb ass focaccia bread to soak up some sauce and my local ice cream place's rocky road ice cream for dessert:)

Expand full comment

This is definitely the most difficult question EVER!

But for my appetizer, I would probably go with doubles or Trini corn soup (please go to Trinciti on Lefferts Blvd if you haven't already, they are unreal)

My main would probably be a toss up of Dim Sum, specifically Xiao Long Bao, spicy chicken feet and pork shu mai, pollo guisado or a Trini Creole meal like pelau or curry chicken and buss up shut with all the fixings i.e. pumpkin, mango, channa and aloo, bhagi/string beans and lots of pepper sauce (you can also get this at Trinciti - definitely a must try)

My dessert would probably be a fresh cold coconut (coconut water) with jelly, arroz dulce or warm chocolate chip cookies with Ben and Jerry's Netflix and Chilled ice cream

Wow...that was hard (but fun) and I never want to play this game again hahaha!

Expand full comment

Warm freshly baked bread with french butter.

Bucatini Amatriciana with a side of my grandmothers meatballs

For dessert a Carvel vanilla softserve sundae with extra crunchies on the bottom of the cup and hot fudge.

Expand full comment

I’ve never thought of it before… It’s a toss up between Italian and Chinese. So here goes: a really good char kuey teow to start with eggs, prawns, spicy, no cockles. For my main a very good spaghetti carbonara and for dessert a dark chocolate mousse. I guess I would die of a heart attack after that but will be sated! 😅

Expand full comment

I’ve always known my last meal…it is my comfort meal memory from when I was a kid that my mom used to make for me.

Meatloaf, mashed potatoes and peas 🥰

Expand full comment

Homemade Ravioli from Borgatti’s with my sauce. Mozzarella from Casa Della and bread from Terranova

Expand full comment

Hi, Firstly LOVING getting these in my mail. You’re the coolest!

This took me all of 5 mins to settle on.

Appetizer of a poppyseed bagel with a fat schmear of plain cream cheese, beautiful thin lox, with thin red onion and dappled with tiny capers.

Main was between Chinese & Italian and Chinese food HAS my heart so…Start with Hong Kong soup dumplings, simple steamed gai lan in oyster sauce & as much spicy, long, hand-pulled Dan Dan noodles as I can eat.

Dessert even has an emoji, the classic Grand Marnier crème carmel.

A crisp tall Czech Pilsner, a cheeky Negroni, a gorgeous bright Pinot Noir and a cappuccino ALL in front of me, to sip at my will during the meal.

I would die VERY satisfied.

That was fun, thanks!

Expand full comment

Honestly, this may be the most difficult question I’ve ever been asked. I’d like to say some interesting cultured meal but I think I have to go with a hamburger and fries. Specifically from Goose and Gander in Napa.

Expand full comment

My Papa’s Italian chicken (chicken breaded in Romano cheese) which he serves on top of angel hair with oil.

Expand full comment

Bly*t, this is hard. Haluski maybe.

Expand full comment