34 Comments
author

Starting us off - my favorite dish to make is shrimp scampi. If I'm pulling out all the stops I'll make fresh pasta (tagliatelle) but otherwise I love mafaldine, linguine or even spaghetti

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2022Liked by Emily Fedner

Carbonara. Everyone thinks it’s fancy but it’s easy, impressive & if they don’t like pasta then you can take them off the suitor list

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2022Liked by Emily Fedner

i like to make risotto! it seems fancy, it’s sort of like a fun stand and talk and stir situation and he can see how strong and good at stirring you are, it’s an excuse to open a bottle of wine, and it’s open to so many mix-ins! (why do i only date men who don’t like mushrooms???)

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2022Liked by Emily Fedner

on an early date with my current boyfriend, i made tonkatsu (japanese pork cutlets)! it was a fun activity since i could draft him to help with breading all the cutlets, and it was something unique to my culture that he had never tried!

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2022Liked by Emily Fedner

I prepare a sushi spread! My uncle is Japanese. He taught me how to make it when I was growing up. Depending on the audience, I’d do California rolls, tamago, inari, umeboshi, salmon or tuna. It’s fun to make the rolls together! I also get pocky and rice crackers to nibble on before.

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2022Liked by Emily Fedner

Rib eye steak (med/Med rare) with sautéed bok choy and cilantro chimmichurri (with so much garlic). And of course a side of gab. I also can never go wrong with a garlic & oil pasta

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2022Liked by Emily Fedner

Shrimp Alfredo, my boyfriend loves it and I can easily make it dairy free for me!

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2022Liked by Emily Fedner

What a fun question! My favorite date dish isn’t very complicated but tastes like it is! A caprese pasta bake with tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, red peppers and spinach, all topped with fresh basil. I usually use Banza chickpea pasta!

Expand full comment

My go-to impressive but easy-to-make meal has always been chicken piccata with a side of angel hair pasta. The lemon and capers make it seem so light, and it’s a great excuse to make use of that “ok” bottle of white wine- and then open a great one (I love the Kings Estate Pinot Gris!) I used to always serve this dish alongside a baked garlic-stuffed tomato (until now bc my hubby hates baked tomatoe with a passion). What was cool about the tomato is you could mush it up and it was an instant fresh pasta sauce. Super simple, fresh and delicious- and topped with lemon and parsley it looks like it was cooked by a pro!

Expand full comment

I wooed my current partner with my well loved family recipes- my nonna’s pasta and rosemary chicken, homemade curry, and Finnish meatballs!

Expand full comment

Sadness with a side agony. Not from Rome but I use a lot of salt and pepper.

Expand full comment

Tacos 🌮 you can’t go wrong!

Expand full comment

The best margharita pizza ever! Crust recipe is from Sally's Baking Addiction blog + homemade marinara sauce + cheese from the deli.

The dough only needs an hour to rise, but you can definitely let it rise longer.

Expand full comment

Strip steak au poivre

Expand full comment
Feb 12, 2022·edited Feb 12, 2022

367227% my linguine vongole. White wine? Clams? Carbs?? Say less. In a directly related fact, happily in love twelve years later 🦪 (yes that's an oyster but it's closest I could find, lol)

Expand full comment

On our ur first non-distanced date (we live in such weird times) my boyfriend prepped everything for spring rolls which was so cute. It was a fun little activity, it wouldn’t have been too intimidating if I wasn’t confident in the kitchen, and it was delicious of course.

Expand full comment

Homemade gnocchi/ gnudi! Fun activity and seems impressive, though a little messy. If I’m trying hard I’ll do it multiple ways and make a couple sauces.

Expand full comment

I made my now-girlfriend Michael Chiarello's chicken pastina soup. it's delicious, there aren't too many steps, so it allows you to prep and cook while you're having conversation. Anything too intricate, with too many steps, you end up disappearing to cook.

Expand full comment

Date night means i don’t want to be cooking, so we go out! But it’s always for Thai!!! Rad nah, pad see ew, crispy pork belly…Heaven!

Expand full comment