7 Comments

Honestly I don’t discriminate. I love all dumplings!!

Expand full comment

As a Russian Mennonite I think I have to say cottage cheese verenike - but a close rival is a vegan Chinese pan fried dumpling that a local (Winnipeg) restaurant makes. It's mushroom and cabbage and tofu (I think there might even be some rice noodles in the mix). They have been making it for 20+ years - served with red vinegar - it's honestly such a delicate treat I am salivating thinking about it right now.

Expand full comment

The very rare pan fried pork xiao long bao -- you got everything: soup, tasty dumpling skin, and charred flavor. So hard to make and forgot ordering them in.

Expand full comment

I’m an equal opportunist when it comes to dumplings, but love classic pork/chive crisped up

Expand full comment

Pork and chive potstickers are hands down my favorite - the best ever from A-Pou’s Taste in Brooklyn or Everyday Noodles in Pittsburgh.

Expand full comment

My favorite is Xiu mai (Siu mai) as in the Dim sum dumpling made from a pork and shrimp mixture! I would travel miles for a good Siu Mai! 😍😍😍

Expand full comment

That's like asking a person to choose between their kids. But gun to my head MOMO. Followed very closely by XLB.

Expand full comment