58 Comments
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Let's see - I'm experiencing post-vacation exhaustion and just decided on pizza, which I NEVER eat, for lunch! But if I'm really down, a big bowl of pasta, smothered in butter and parm will do the trick!

Expand full comment
author

Grilled cheese! Taco Bell. Junk food lol. I'm actually sick today, though.. and craving rice and beans!

Expand full comment
author

Other contenders of mine: shrimp pasta, spaghetti aglio e olio, mac and cheese....there's a trend here

Expand full comment
Dec 7, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Definitely pho! But instant ramen is aaaalways a comfort when I'm down and extremely lazy. If I feel like cooking, making a thai-ish curry or a really simple pasta is like a warm hug. So basically noodles and/or rice is always the answer!

Expand full comment
Dec 7, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Sushi. Feels like the definition of treating yourself.

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Bao - steamed, fried, soup’d or whatever. Pork fat in a sugar wrapper holds me like my mother in a puffy cloud dream.

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Hawaiian BBQ chicken plate with tons of warm white rice and macaroni salad. Plus a spam musubi on the slide!

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Homemade chicken brodo with tubetti pastina (preferably the whole box lol) and stracciatella. Lol can you tell I was raised in an Italian household.

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Buttered noodles with peas and parmesan cheese. It’s been my go to comfort food for as long as I can remember. It’s what my mom would make me when I was sick or sad, and is perhaps the reason why today it is still my go to comfort food.

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Pho and Katsu Curry!

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Congee!! or splurge on some nice cheese, a loaf of bread, and wine aka pretend I'm living on a farm in Italy lol

Expand full comment
Dec 7, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

A bowl/hot pot of piping hot sundubu, add the egg and dumplings. Specifically from this little place called Tofu Ya on Sawtelle in Los Angeles that I’ve been going to for half of my life. Reminds me of childhood

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

For me it's cheap, chicken or creamy chicken flavored maruchan ramen! Takes me back to simpler times and easier (childhood) days.

Expand full comment

Honestly nothing makes me happier than a hearty 16-oz container of tuna fish salad (lots of celery and red onion crunch) and an endless supply of crackers for dipping!!! The cracker is a mere vehicle to consume illegal amounts of tuna fish salad. THIS is peak comfort dining.

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Mashed Potatoes! Soft and creamy.

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Echoing others on the grilled cheese and will also say that the times where i've been absolutely going through it, sometimes the only thing that sounds even remotely appealing is a fluffy stack of buttery pancakes.

And I'm choosing Pho every time.

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Emily Fedner

Piccante Chicken Cacciatora con aglio

Expand full comment
author

SERIOUS QUESTION: pho or ramen? you can only choose one.

Expand full comment

Or for immediate and mess-free pleasure: a single-serving container of cottage cheese, topped with *good olive oil* and everything-but-the-bagel seasoning. Eat with a spoon if patience is running at an all time low, or eat with crackers! My favorite savory yogurty pick-me-up.

Expand full comment

Marcella Hazan's Bolognese

Expand full comment

Dumplings from any NYC chinese restaurant with a side of egg drop soup

Expand full comment

A peanut butter and banana sandwich. Nothing says dad's babysitting like that one.

Expand full comment

Spicy red Thai curry and Pad Kee Mao with thick rice noodles. There's nothing more comforting than food that warms the soul...and noodles make everything better!

Expand full comment

Cheese eaten standing up (it tastes better that way) any vehicle.

Expand full comment

Fried chicken! Or Xiao long baos!

Expand full comment

I know your feelings on this....but Pad Thai all the way!!

Expand full comment

Warm carbs. All of them.

Expand full comment