11 Comments
Jun 13, 2022Liked by Emily Fedner

I cannot, will not, should not ever ever ever give up sushi. This week alone I had sushi twice for lunch, poke, made fish on the grill and had smoked salmon for breakfast. It’s a perfect food. Not to mention that bit you did about the lab grown salmon?!!!!! So exciting!

Expand full comment

Goodbye meat. Nice knowin’ ya.

Super fresh seafood right off the boat cannot be topped. I was a marine biology undergrad spending summers on the Gulf Coast who got to eat this way, way too often.

Expand full comment

I’m from Hawaii and live in Hawaii. I come from a great fishing family. Yet I would give up seafood in a heart beat for meat. To me meat is just so much more versatile than meat and believe me when I say we cook seafood in every way possible.

It’s also very sad to see what poke has become. But that’s a whole other story.

Expand full comment

I would give up both ,,for a good plate of homemade pasta 😊

Expand full comment

Meat is the best! Beef, pork, lamb, etc is sooooo good. I would give up seafood in a heartbeat. I eat a lot of fish too. I love grilled and smoked salmon. I eat fancy sushi on the regular. Absolutely love some nicely cut toro or some spicy tuna on a rice cake. But tell me I can't have a steak or a burger again and I'd probably lose my mind. There's just something about a medium rare ribeye or a greasy burger I can't quit.

Expand full comment

I would give up meat in a heartbeat. In fact, without any dietary restrictions, I have naturally lowered my red meat consumption to once every two months approximately. Don't get me wrong, I'll always make the line to the Relais de l'Entrecôte and burgers after a night out will always be the ultimate comfort food, but a life without octopus? shrimp? mussels? It's not a life I want to live. I love fish but it's not even my favorite type of seafood. I grew up on the mediterranean and if there is anything I will bring with me everywhere I go it's my love for vegetables, seafood, a good glass of crisp, cold white wine, and good company. If garlic&onions, mint, and olive oil are our holy trinity, seafood is the religion. Every. Single. Day.

Expand full comment

When you say give up meat, what kind of meat? I love seafood but it’s so dang expensive! If you say give up meat is it only beef, only pork or only chicken or all of it? I love it all though 😜

Expand full comment

I would give up meat before I'd give up seafood. I rarely eat meat anyway, since I try to only consume the most pampered, lovingly reared meats and they are too expensive for me to afford on a regular basis. Also, my family is from a coastal area and seafood is the protein I associate with love and celebration. I love shrimp and crab and scallops, and currently there aren't good substitutes for those ingredients in my opinion. On the other hand, you can't shake a stick without hitting a decent vegetarian sub for meat products, especially processed meat products like burgers, chicken nuggets, and hot dogs. The exception, sadly, is bacon. I would miss bacon forever and ever, because vegetarian bacon is an abomination.

Expand full comment

Having grown up on the coasts of Connecticut and Florida I cannot imagine life without seafood.

Expand full comment